top of page

From Ultrafine to Strong: A Deep Dive into Merino Wool Grades

Merino wool, a natural fiber known for its exceptional softness and thermal regulation, is a product of merino sheep, primarily raised in Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. The quality of merino wool is determined by its fineness, measured in microns, which are one-millionth of a meter. The finer the wool, the softer and more luxurious is the fabric produced.

merino wool

One of the key factors that determine the quality of merino wool is its fineness, which is often indicated by the S-number system. This grading system is crucial for manufacturers, retailers, and consumers alike, as it provides a standardized way to assess the quality of wool.

The S-number system, also known as the Super number system, is a numerical scale that measures the fineness of wool fibers used in the production of woolen fabrics. The system ranges from lower numbers, indicating coarser fibers, to higher numbers, which represent finer fibers. For instance, and S-number of 80s signifies wool that is coarser compared to 100s, which is finer.

The origin of the S-number system can be traced back to England, where the worsted spinning process was developed. The finer the wool, the higher the count. In modern times, the S-number system has evolved to directly measure the diameter of wool fibers in micrometers. Each S-number correlates to a maximum fiber diameter, with finer fibers having smaller diameters. For example. 80s wool must have a maximum fiber diameter of 19.75 micrometers or finer, while 100s wool must be 18.75 micrometers or finer.

The significance of the S-number system extends beyond just the fineness of the fibers. It also has implications for the texture, durability, and overall quality of the fabric. Finer wool fibers can be spun into lighter, softer, and more luxurious fabrics, which are ideal for high-end suiting and delicate garments. Conversely, coarser fibers result in heavier, more robust fabrics suitable for outerwear and more casual attire.

It's important to note that a higher S-number does not necessarily mean better quality. The choice between different grades of wool depends on the intended use of the fabric. For instance, a heavier and coarser wool may be preferable for a durable overcoat, while a finer wool would be more suitable for a soft, lightweight suit.

The S-number system is a testament to the sophistication and precision of the wool industry. It allows for a nuanced understanding of wool quality and provides a language for communicating the characteristics of wool fabrics across the global market. Whether you're a fashion enthusiast, a textile professional, or simply someone who appreciates the warmth and comfort of wool, the S-number system is an essential aspect of the world of merino wool.

merino wool

Grades of Merino Wool:

Ultrafine Merino - Less than 17.5 microns, this grade is the epitome of luxury, offering an incredibly soft texture that is ideal for garments worn close to the skin.

Superfine Meino - Ranging from 17.7 to 18.5 microns, Superfine Merino is still exceptionally soft and used in high-end fashion.

Fine / Extra Fine Merino - With a micron count of 18.5 to 19.5, this grade balances softness with durability, suitable for both clothing and accessories.

Fine Medium Merino - Measuring 19.6 to 20.5 microns, fine medium merino is versatile, used in a vareity of apparel.

Medium Merino - At 20.6 to 22.5 microns, medium merino is often ultilized in everyday wear, offering a good mix of comfort and resilience.

Strong Merino - With a micron range of 22.6 to less than 24, strong merino is robust and ideal for items that require more durability, such as outerwear.

The micron grading system is a testament to the versatility of Merino wool. Each grade serves a specific purpose, from the ultrafine fibers used in delicate, next-to-skin garments to the stronger fibers suitable for the rigors of outdoor apparel. The grading also reflects in the pricing, with finer grades often commanding higher prices due to their rarity and the level of comfort they provide.

merino wool

The process of transforming raw merino wool into the yarn involves several steps, including washing, picking, carding, and spinning. The wool can be spun into different weights and thicknesses, leading to a variety of yarns that can be knitted or woven into fabrics. These fabrics are then dyed and fashioned into a myriads of products, ranging from sweaters and socks to scarves and hats.

Merino wool's natural properties, such as moisture-wicking, odor resistance, and breathability, make it a favored choice not only in the fashion industry but also among outdoor enthusiasts. Its ability to keep the wearer warm in Winter and cool in Summer adds to its appeal as a year-round material.

Understanding the grades and microns of merino wool is essential for consumers and designer alike, as it influences the texture, durability, and application of the wool in various products. The meticulous care in breeding and shearing merino sheep, coupled with the intricate processing of the wool, culminates in a range of grades that cater to diverse needs and preferences, solidifying merino wool's status as premier textile in the world of fashion and beyond. For more detailed insights into merino wool and its grades.



bottom of page